Lab Alumni

 

 


Jennifer Adam (Ph.D 2000) Joint with John Pringle
Postdoc with Denise Montell,Johns Hopkins Currently raising three energetic children       jennifercadam@msn.com

Kathryn Akong (Ph.D 2003, MD 2005)
Resident in Pediatric Medicine and Pediatric Pulmonary Fellow, Victor Nizet lab, UCSD
Currently:  Associate Clinical Professor of Pediatrics and associate director of the Cystic Fibrosis Center , UCSD and site PI at Rady Children’s Hospital for the Cystic Fibrosis Therapeutics Development Network
kaakong@ucsd.edu

Kelly Alexandre Lefave (M.S., 2009)
Editor, American Journal Experts, kmalexan@email.unc.edu

Colleen Bilancia (Postdoc, 2009-2014)
ABMG Clinical Cytogenetics Fellow at Columbia University Medical Center
Currently:  Clinical Cytogeneticist and Molecular Geneticist, Bionano Genomics
colleengbilancia@gmail.com

Teresa Bonello (Postdoc, 2014-2019)
Currently: Research Fellow – The Thompson Group
EMBL-Australia
Teresa.Bonello@anu.edu.au

Toni Bowerman (Lab Manager Extraordinaire, 2010-2015)
Masters in International Security, University of Denver
Currently:  Employed by US Government

Covington Brown (Postbac researcher, 1996-1998)
MPH, UNC-CH and MPP, Duke
Currently:  PhD Program at UNC School of Public Health

Rob Cavallo (Ph.D. 2000)
Head, Scientific Engagement and Communications, Sanofi Genzyme
cavallorob01@hotmail.com

Wangsun Choi (Postdoc, 2009-2016)
Currently: Scientist, Gilead Sciences       Previous: Instructor, Harvard Medical School and Associate Scientist, Turner Lab, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
wangsunchoi@gmail.com

Whitney Christian, Res. Tech 2001-3
(Ph.D.,Toxicology, Ballatori Lab, Univ. of Rochester 2012)  Currently Director of Toxicology and Biocompatibility at Medtronic
whitney.christian@cardno.com

Rachel Cox (Ph.D. 1998)
Postdoc with Alan Spradling
Currently: Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Uniformed Services University
Rachel.Cox@usuhs.mil

Don Fox (Ph.D. 2006)
Postdoc with Alan Spradling, Carnegie Insitute
Currently: Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology, Duke University
fox@ciwemb.edu

Julie Gates (Postdoc, 2002-2006)
Currently:  Associate Professor of Biology
Bucknell University jg042@bucknell.edu

Lizz Grevengoed (Ph.D. 2003)
Postdoc with Deb Andrew, Johns Hopkins
PA-C Degree, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center; Director of Clinical Services, Private Health Management egrevengoed@gmail.com

Karen Hales (Postdoc, 1998-2000)
Currently:  Professor of Biology
Davidson College
kahales@davidson.edu

Nathan Harris (Ph.D. 2012)
Postdoctoral Fellow with Gant Luxton,University of Minnesota
Currently: Laboratory Supervisor, LabCorp
njharris@gmail.com

Tony Harris (Postdoc, 2001-2005)
Currently:  Professor of Cell and Systems Biology
University of Toronto  tony.harris@utoronto.ca

Melissa Hayden (Ph.D. 2007)
Postdoc with Akira Chiba, University of Miami-Coral Gables and Clinical Cytogenetics Fellow, UNC-CH School of Medicine
Currently: Technical Director, Molecular Genetics and Genomics, Lab Corp
Haydem1@LabCorp.com

Catarina Homem (Ph. D. 2009)
Postdoc with Jürgen Knoblich, IMBA Austria
Currently: Principal Investigator, CEDOC, Lisbon Portugal
catarina.homem@nms.unl.pt

Traci Jesse Stevens (Postdoc 2000-2004)
Currently:  Professor and Associate Chair of Biology
Randolph Macon College
tstevens@rmc.edu

Erin Jezuit (Res. Tech 2004-2005)
M.S, University of Washington (2009)
PhD student, University of Oregon

Kuo-chen Kacy Jung (MS, 2011)  Artist extraodinaire
kuochenjung@gmail.com

Catherine Kirkpatrick (Postdoc 1995-99)
Currently:  Teaching Associate Professor
College of Biological Sciences, University of Minnesota
cakirkpa@cbs.umn.edu

Joe Loureiro (Ph.D., 1998)
Postdoc with Frank Gertler, MIT
Currently Senior Investigator I, Computational Biology, Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research
joseph.loureiro@novartis.com

Brooke McCartney (Postdoc 1998-2000)
Currently:  Associate Professor of Biological Sciences
Carnegie-Mellon University brookem@andrew.cmu.edu

Don McEwen (Postdoc 1999-2004)
Assistant Professor till his all to early death in 2014
University of Texas Health Science Center-San Antonio
mcewen@uthscsa.edu

Elizabeth Metzger (Lab Manager 2016-2017)
East Coast Site Lead/Scientific Research Associate at The Henry M. Jackson Foundation emetzge2@gmail.com

Steve Myster (Postdoc 1998-2003)
Staff Manufacturing Scientist, Beckman Coulter

Lathiena Manning Nervo (Postdoc 2015-2019)
Currently:  Assistant Professor of Biology
Pacific Lutheran University
lnervo@plu.edu

Stephanie Nowotarski (Ph.D. 2014)
Currently:  Postdoc with Alejandro Sánchez Alvarado, Stowers Institute/HHMI
stn@stowers.org

Sandra Orsulic (Ph.D., 1996)
Postdoc with Harold Varmus, NIH and Sloan Kettering
Initial Appt: Asst. Professor of Pathology, Harvard Med and Mass General
Currently: Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, UCLA
sorsulic@mednet.ucla.edu

Li-Mei Pai (Ph.D., 1997)
Postdoc with Trudi Schupbach
Currently: Professor of Developmental Biology
Chang-Gung University, TAIWAN
pai@mail.cgu.edu.tw

Gordon Polevoy (M.S., 2001)
Currently:  Research Project Coordinator with Julie Brill
The Hospital for Sick Children/University of Toronto
polevoy@sickkids.ca

John Poulton (Postdoc, 2009-2016)
Currently: Research Asst. Professor, UNC Dept. of Medicine and Kidney Center

Meredith Price (Undergraduate and Res Tech II 1999-2004)
Ph.D. Student, Bowerman lab, University of Oregon
Currently: Imaris Product and Business Manager, Bitplane Scientific Software
meredith.price@bitplane.com

Mira Pronobis (Ph.D., 2016)
Currently:  LSRF Postdoctoral Fellow with Ken Poss
HHMI/Duke University,
mira.pronobis@duke.edu

Dave Roberts (Postdoc 2005-2010)
Currently: Associate Professor
Franklin and Marshall College

david.roberts@fandm.edu

Ed Rogers (Postdoc 2006-2012)
Currently: Research Specialist, Reiser lab
Janelia Research Campus, HHMI
rogerse10@janelia.hhmi.org

Jeremiah Roeth (Postdoc 2005-2007)
Past:  Vice President, UltraVector Division, Intrexon Corp
Currently: President at aerialPLOT and CEO, Buckeye Ag Testing LLC
jfroeth@gmail.com

Dave Rubenstein (Postdoc 1996-1997)
Skinner Distinguished Professor of Dermatology-UNC-CH; Chief Scientific Officer at Dermavant Sciences, Inc.  druben@med.unc.edu

Nasser Rusan  (Postdoc 2005-2010)
Currently: Senior Investigator and Head of Laboratory of Molecular Machines and Tissue Architecture
NHLBI/NIH, Bethesda MD                nasser@nih.gov

Jessica Sawyer (Ph.D. 2010)
Postdoc with Don Fox, Duke University  Currently: Research Assistant Professor, Duke
jessica.k.sawyer@gmail.com

Mycah Sewell (Postbac student, 2015-2016)
Currently:  Ph.D. student, Molecular, Cell, Developmental, and Genetics (MCDG) track, Yale University
mycah.sewell@yale.edu

Hsin-Pei Shih (Ph.D., 2001) Joint with John Pringle
Postdoc with Chris Doe, University of Oregon
Currently:  Director, Search and Evaluation, Business Development, GlobalBioPharm, Novo Nordisk
hsinpshih@verizon.net

Joan Shields, Res Tech 1994-6
Ph.D., Environ. Health Science, UC-Irvine, 2003; Postdoc and (currently) Guest researcher, CDC
jshields@uci.edu

Andrew Spracklen (Postdoc 2015-2019)
Currently:  Lecturer in Biology
UMass Amherst
aspracklen@umass.edu

Kaelyn Sumigray (Postdoc 2012-2013)
Res. Asst Prof. with Terry Lechler, Duke University (2013-2019)        Currently: Asst Professor, Yale Dept. of Genetics                         kaelyn.sumigray@yale.edu

Wei Wang (MS, 1998)
MS  Bioinformatics, Georgia Tech.  Currently:  Molecular Profiling and Bioinformatics, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals

Hui-Chia Yu-Kemp (Postdoc 2017-2021)  Currently: Scientist II, Protein Chemistry at Life Edit Therapeutics

Shiping Zhang (Postdoc 2016-2017) Currently: Senior Scientist, Ho Lab, ShanghaiTech University

HONORARY LAB MEMBERS (they work elsewhere but sometimes use flies )

None current (see Alumni below)

HONORARY ALUMNI (they worked elsewhere but sometimes used flies and we miss them)

Kim (Peters) Marston (Graduate Student with Steve Rogers )
Associate Director, Project Management , Nuventra

Derek Applewhite (Postdoctoral Fellow with Steve Rogers )Associate Professor, Reed College

Greg Rogers (Postdoctoral Fellow with Steve Rogers )
Professor and Associate Department Head, Cellular and Molecular Medicine, University of Arizona  GRogers@azcc.arizona.edu

Hanna (Johnny) Fares (Graduate Student with John Pringle)
Professor, University of Arizona.  Currently Dean of Arts and Sciences at Saint George University– Beirut

Omayma Al-Awar (Graduate Student with John Pringle)
Regional Sales Director, Southern Region, Illumina
oalawar@illumina.com

Copyright 2022 Peifer Lab · RSS Feed · Log in

Site By: Ruby Red Design Studio

Mark Peifer Mark Peifer